Israel waives mandatory isolation from 20 countries

Ben Gurion Airport  / Photo: Matan Portnoy, Globes , Globes

The Health Ministry has signed an order retroactively exempting Israelis returning from the UK, Canada, Germany and 17 other countries from the need to isolate.

The Ministry of Health order exempting Israelis returning home from "green" countries from the need to self-isolate for 14 days came into effect today. Ministry of Health director general Hezi Levi signed the order for the exemption from 20 countries, which is retroactive, thus also exempting those who returned from those countries within the past 14 days.

The 20 countries on the list are: Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, New Zealand, Slovenia and the UK.

However, because of the high infection rate in Israel, of these countries, only Bulgaria, Croatia and Greece have agreed to allow in Israeli passport holders providing they undergo a Covid-19 test before flying and again before entering the country. Many of the other countries are closed to Israeli passport holders while others require Israelis to undergo 14 days isolation after entry.

At this stage foreign passport holders are still barred from entering Israel.

Published by Globes, Israel business news - - on August 16, 2020 © Copyright of Globes Publisher Itonut (1983) Ltd. 2020

Ben Gurion Airport  / Photo: Matan Portnoy, Globes , Globes
Ben Gurion Airport / Photo: Matan Portnoy, Globes , Globes
Twitter Facebook Linkedin RSS Newsletters גלובס Israel Business Conference 2018